Astoria Column


My son was terrified the first time we ever climbed to the top of the Astoria Column, a beautiful landmark in Astoria, Oregon.  We climbed that last stair and stepped out the door and I think he turned as white as the clouds floating by.  He was stuck to the side of the wall and began to cry.  Well, since that day, oh gosh 9 or more years ago, he has overcome that fear and now tries to break a record each time we visit.  I think he did 14 times up just the other day, and well, 14 times down too.  They shoot off little wooden airplanes to the ground and try to retrieve them if some one else hasn’t grabbed them up first.

The column provides a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean, Columbia River and even Washington.  The artwork on the column is gorgeous as well.  If you haven’t ever been, I encourage you to visit, you won’t be dissapointed.

This was our exchange student from Japan, we said goodbye to him yesterday and were all so sad that the time went so quickl.

Linking up with:

Coco Paws

6 thoughts on “Astoria Column

  1. I have never been to the top of the Astoria column! I’m pretty sure I would be just like your son was the first trip, but I don’t think I would get better! I think I’ve been to Astoria only twice in my life. Maybe it’s time for a visit to the north Coast. We went to the fossil beds near Dayville this year and went to Crater Lake just a couple of weeks ago. I have a niece–and possibly her brother–who will be teaching high school in Jewel this next year.

Leave a Reply

