Pressure Canning


I finally bit the bullet….and pulled out, dusted off the pressure canner/cooker that has sat idle in our garage since we bought it…….yes, 3 years ago.  I thought I would use it like crazy, but then realized how afraid of it that I was.

So about a month ago, my husband decided to try the artichokes in the cooker, and I was like…..eeeek…ok…and stood 40ft away.  BUT nothing happened other than a delicious artichoke that didn’t take long at all to cook.

So our daughter visited us this past week and while I was at work one day, her and hubby had the discussion of me being afraid to use the canner. She said…Pffft, no need, I will show her!  AND that she did. We canned chicken breast. I was so excited. Then it was on to potatoes from the garden.  Now I have the bug.

She is home now, but I am cooking up my first batch of chili. Actually, it’s in the canner now, and has about another 45 minutes to go.  I canned 4 quarts. I thought to put them in quart jars as we have four of us in the family to eat them.  I am so excited, and trying to decided what next to can. I would like to can some pork if I find it at a good price.

0225lbs of hamburger

0232 cups of chopped onions

 024mmmm……added chili powder, cumin, black beans, salt

 025Both pots going, one with Chili, and one for the canner.

 026Finished product, 4 qts of Chili!

Now on to some rhubarb!

So fellow canner’s and scaredy cats of pressure cookers, DON’T BE SCARED!  (living proof that you will be FINE!).

Tracy

One thought on “Pressure Canning

Leave a Reply

